Return to The Herald Home Page


Chiefs pick up individual awards after outstanding season

Three members of the Lakefield Fitzsimmons Towing and Repair Chiefs were honoured for individual achievements during the OHA Central Junior C league regular season.

Forward Derek Manley won the Elinor Gillam Memorial Trophy for being the COJHL’s top scorer. In 39 games, he scored 34 goals, assisted on 35 others for 69 points.

Manley had an eight-point cushion over second-place finisher and teammate Nathan Larson. Eric Shewell was the club and league’s highest scoring defenceman with 42 points.

Goaltenders Zach Wainman and Kevin Collins were awarded the Smith Family Trophy for being the top goaltending duo. They recorded a combined GAA of 2.42 in helping the Chiefs to 35 wins, four losses and one overtime loss. Wainman led all goaltenders with a 2.17 GAA on 21 wins, three losses and one overtime loss while Collins finished with 14 wins and a loss for a 2.82 GAA.

[Get Copyright Permissions]Click here for copyright permissions!
Copyright 2010 Lakefield Herald Ltd.


Return to The Herald Home Page