Return to The Herald Home Page


Chiefs take 2-0 lead over Grimsby in semi-final series

by Robert Campbell

The Lakefield Fitzsimmons Towing and Repair Junior C Chiefs went up 2 games to 0 in the semi-finals of the Schmalz Cup defeating the Grimsby Peach Kings 5-2 at home on Saturday.

Jordan Walsh got the Chiefs on the board at the 12 minute mark of the first, then Captain Nathan Larson put the Chiefs up by two before the Peach Kings closed the gap to one when Brennan Smith scored in the last minute of the period.

The Peach Kings Cooper Nauboris scored the only goal of the second period tying up the game 2-2.

Once again in the third the Chiefs took over, scoring three goals, two by Ryan Saunders, and Eric Oosting hitting the scoresheet for the third time in the series.

Assists went to Larson and Travis Brault with two, Ryan Anderson, Keenan Runnals, Derek Manley, Oosting, Jessie Gregory and Eric Shewell.

Zac Wainman took the win in net. The third game of the series is in Grimsby on Wednesday at 7:30.


It was the start the Lakefield Fitzsimmons Towing and Repair Junior C Chiefs were hoping for when they traveled to Grimsby for the first game in the Schmalz Cup semi-final on Friday.

They defeated the Peach Kings 5-1 and came home with a 1-0 lead in the series.

The two teams were feeling each other out in the first before Jessie Gregory was able to break the ice scoring at the 15:38 minute mark on a nice feed from Ryan Anderson.

The second period belonged to the Chiefs when Derek Manley got the Chiefs’ second goal from Sean Mackie and Bryce Sweeting.

Then Eric Oosting scored the third and fourth goals with Nathan Larson assisting on both and Eric Shewell helping out on the fourth.

The teams traded goals in the third with the Chiefs going up 5-0 when Gregory scored his second of the game from from Brent Thomson and Manley at 9:13.

The Peach Kings were finally able to solve Zac Wainman getting their first goal of the game just three minutes later from Jordan McCarl unassisted.

[Get Copyright Permissions]Click here for copyright permissions!
Copyright 2010 Lakefield Herald Ltd.


Return to The Herald Home Page