Return to The Herald Home Page


Last fling bonspiel held at Lakefield Curling Club

On Wednesday, March 26 the Ladies Division of the Lakefield Curling Club held their 25th annual Last Fling Bonspiel, and a fun, successful event it was!

Participating in the day’s events were 16 non-Lakefield teams, representing 10 different clubs from the region, including Peterborough, Lindsay, Keene, Ennismore, Marmora, Bancroft, West Northumberland, Whitby, and St. George’s in Mississauga.

The Lakefield Curling Club was turned into Olympic Village and these 16 teams came to “Go for Gold”!

Colourful individual team banners hung from the ceiling; tables were decorated in white, red and gold, with red carnation bouquets that were later used for the medal winners; our members dressed up in Canadian red and white; the “Sochi girls” added the perfect touch to the day’s festivities; a fun slideshow portraying the Olympics with the “Fling” participants garnering much laughter; and the closing ceremonies, complete with podium, medals, flowers, kisses on both cheeks, and the raising of the gold medal winners’ flags (while Queen’s “We Are the Champions” played as the background anthem), capped off a wonderful day!

Many thanks go out to our Annual sponsor, Home Hardware of Lakefield, as well as the numerous LCC ladies who generously volunteer their time and energy to the success of this bonspiel!

The overall bonspiel event was won by the Marmora team skipped by Joy Reid, with Wendy McCoy, Jean Croskery, and Myrtle Barry.

First-Draw medal winners included: Gold Medalists – Marmora Curling Club (Skip Joy Reid, Wendy McCoy, Jean Croskery, Myrtle Barry);

Silver Medalists – Peterborough Curling Club (Skip Jane Reid, Sue O’Marra, Pat Bennett, Deb Pollock);

Bronze Medalists – Keene Curling Club (Skip Deb Richardson, Sue Pogue, Kathy Pimmett, Lynda Smith).

Second-Draw medal winners included Gold Medalists – Peterborough Curling Club (Skip Susan Barnard, Mary Ellen Bannon, Hazel Litvin, Barb Gifford);

Silver Medalists – Ennismore Curling Club (Skip Sherri Jopling, Sara Marshall, Niki Julian, Christa Quick);

Bronze Medalists – West Northumberland Curling Club (Skip Jane Haworth, Ross Fulton, Joan Stafford, Jenny Fulton).

[Get Copyright Permissions]Click here for copyright permissions!
Copyright 2010 Lakefield Herald Ltd.


Return to The Herald Home Page