Community invited to Grand Opening of Peterborough Pagansí new clubhouse
Peterborough Rugby invites the community to join the grand opening ceremony for their new clubhouse at Nicholls Oval on Saturday, July 12 at noon. The ceremony is part of a full weekend of rugby activities hosted by Peterborough Rugby, including Minor Flag, Junior Boys, Junior Girls, Senior Womenís Senior Menís and Master rugby matches.
Originally constructed in 1929, this heritage building was formerly the clubhouse for the Peterborough Lawn Bowling Club. Thanks to a $151,500 grant from the City of Peterborough to preserve the structure, the building was relocated to Nicholls Oval on May 29, 2011. The heritage element of the project was fitting as Nicholls Oval, the home of Peterborough Rugby for several years is the site of the first rugby game played in Peterborough in the late 1800s.
All are invited to celebrate the relocated clubhouse and experience rugby close up this coming weekend.
Copyright 2010 Lakefield Herald Ltd.
Return to The Herald Home Page