Return to The Herald Home Page


Kemp/Maxwell take Galway-Cavendish Rally

The performance rally team of Driver Jon Kemp of Attica, New York and Co-Driver Brian Maxwell of Port Hope, Ontario won the 13th Galway-Cavendish Forest Rally organized by the Peterborough Motor Sports Club (PMSC) this weekend.

The veteran team drove their Mitsubishi EVO through 100 kilometres of special high-speed stage roads north of Buckhorn in one hour and sixteen minutes. That was nearly five and a half minutes faster than their nearest rival. They also won the four-wheel open class.

The four-wheel production class was taken by Alan Ryall of Acton and Bruce Leonard of Georgetown in a Subaru WRX.

The two-wheel open class winners were Andrew Kulikowski of Guelph and Kelly Mathew of Caledon in a Ford Focus.

Two PMSC-member teams were among the eight cars to finish the rally.

Kurt Theil of Canandaigua, NY and Russ Norton of Ithaca, NY finished fourth overall in a VW GTI while Matthew and Andrew Ballinger of Oshawa, driving a VW Golf, finished eighth.

Ten cars started the event which took place on Ministry of Natural Resources forest access roads and the Parnell Quarry in Trent Lakes Township.

The Galway-Cavendish Forest Rally, sponsored by Direct Energy and Peterborough Mitsubishi, is part of the Ontario Performance Rally Championship series sanctioned by Rally Sport Ontario.

[Get Copyright Permissions]Click here for copyright permissions!
Copyright 2010 Lakefield Herald Ltd.


Return to The Herald Home Page